Don’t Forget! The Minnesota Minimum Wage Is Going to Increase on August 1, 2014

The minimum wage in Minnesota is about to increase.  Effective August 1, 2014, “large employers” – whose gross annual volume of sales made or business done is $500,000 or more – will need to pay a minimum wage of at least $8.00 per hour.  “Small employers” – whose gross annual volume of sales made or business done is less than $500,000 – will either need to pay a minimum wage of at least $6.50 per hour under state law or $7.25 per hour if the federal Fair Labor Standards Act applies.

The minimum wage will increase again on August 1, 2015.  For more information about Minnesota’s minimum wage law, click here.

About Michael Miller

Michael is a Chambers-rated attorney in Briggs and Morgan's Employment, Benefits, and Labor group and is head of the firm’s Employment Law Counseling and Compliance practice group. He has 25 years experience counseling employers to prevent unwanted litigation and advises companies of ongoing changes in federal, state and local employment law. Michael advises employers in all areas of employment law including discipline and discharge, leaves of absence, wage and hour compliance, non-compete and confidentiality agreements, affirmative action plans, background checking, and drug/alcohol testing. For Michael's full bio, click here.

Posted on July 14, 2014, in Wage and Hour and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Comments are closed.