What is the Minimum Wage in Minnesota?
The minimum wage under the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is $7.25 per hour. See 29 U.S.C. § 206. Because the vast majority of employers are subject to the FLSA, most employers in Minnesota must pay at least the federal minimum wage.
Employers who are not subject to the federal FLSA must still comply with Minnesota’s minimum wage law, which distinguishes between “large employers” and “small employers.” A “large employer”—an enterprise with an annual gross volume of sales made or business done that is $625,000 or more—must pay employees at least $6.15 per hour. A “small employer”—an enterprise with an annual gross volume of sales made or business done that is less than $625,000—must pay employees at least $5.25 per hour. See Minn. Stat. § 177.24.